Posted in Projects

Optimistic October Day 23: Gifts

Optimistic October: A 31 Days of Writing Challenge at amberiam.wordpress.com

Don’t you love unexpected gifts? This morning, my mom told me to go get a Starbucks drink on her so I could start my day happy. It was such a little thing (her account has a ridiculous amount on it right now! Guess what she got for her birthday? Ha!), but it meant so much to me, especially since I’ve been feeling kind of blah lately. Getting little gifts like that always makes me so happy. My secondary love language is Receiving Gifts, so it’s no surprise that it makes me happy! (Sidenote, I know that some people don’t believe in love languages or think it’s silly, but I think it’s completely legit! My primary language is Acts of Service, which explains why I’m ridiculously happy when a certain husband does my chores on his day off!).

Giving someone a gift doesn’t just make them happy, though. It also makes you happy and makes your outlook a little brighter. It gets you out of your head (which can be a scary place sometimes!) and makes you think about someone else. It doesn’t have to be anything big; even a little note of encouragement can be a great gift for someone! So, if you’re feeling kind of meh or just want to have a little bit brighter day, give a gift! Now if you’ll excuse me, I have to think of someone to give a gift to! 🙂

Author:

I am Amber. Amber I am. I like to write things that sound like a Dr. Seuss book, evidently.

One thought on “Optimistic October Day 23: Gifts

Tell me what you think!

