Posted in Projects

Optimistic October Day 26: Progress

Optimistic October: A 31 Days of Writing Challenge at amberiam.wordpress.com

 

 

I’ve lost almost 20 pounds this year. That would be a cause for excitement and celebration if I wasn’t so focused on how much more I need to lose. I have the same problem with a lot of the goals I’ve been working on. I can’t focus on how much debt I’ve paid off; I can only look at how much more there is to go. I am not focusing on the steps I’ve made in creating household routines and schedules; I can only see all of the things I’m still falling behind on. And on and on it goes.

Does anyone else have that problem? Are you so focused on what you have to do that you can’t look at the progress you’ve made? Living like that can zap your optimism. You don’t take time to be proud of yourself about your accomplishments because there’s always more that needs to be done. It’s exhausting!

Here’s a challenge for today: look at a long term goal or project that you’ve been working on and celebrate the progress you’ve made. Yes, it’s responsible to keep taking steps to achieve that goal or project, but don’t let it overwhelm you to the point where you forget about the progress you’ve already made. Now if you all don’t mind, I’ll be looking at my set of two-pack abs in the mirror…

Author:

I am Amber. Amber I am. I like to write things that sound like a Dr. Seuss book, evidently.

One thought on “Optimistic October Day 26: Progress

Tell me what you think!

