Posted in Uncategorized

Have yourself an unemotional Christmas

My brother and I went Christmas shopping yesterday, and somehow we started talking about how Christmas music almost always includes some type of descriptive adjective or feeling, for example, “Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas.” We thought it would be funny if those words weren’t included, so that song would instead be “Have Yourself A…Christmas.” Another example, “Holly Jolly Christmas,” would just become “Christmas.”

Imagine the lyric changes, also.

Original lyrics:

Have a holly, jolly Christmas;
It’s the best time of the year
I don’t know if there’ll be snow
but have a cup of cheer
Have a holly, jolly Christmas;
And when you walk down the street
Say Hello to friends you know
and everyone you meet

Oh ho
the mistletoe
hung where you can see;
Somebody waits for you;
Kiss her once for me
Have a holly jolly Christmas
and in case you didn’t hear
Oh by golly
have a holly
jolly Christmas this year

Edited lyrics:

Have a…Christmas;
It’s the…time of the year
I don’t know if there’ll be snow
but have a cup of cheer
Have a…Christmas;
And when you walk down the street
Say Hello to friends you know
and everyone you meet

Oh ho
the mistletoe
hung where you can see;
Somebody waits for you;
Kiss her once for me
Have a…Christmas
and in case you didn’t hear
Oh by golly
have a…Christmas this year

We debated over whether or not a song like “Rockin’ Around The Christmas Tree” would be edited because Rockin’ is telling you what to do, but it’s not really too emotional. What do you think? Would you change the lyrics to that one? What other songs could you edit during this most wonderful time of the year (or should I just say…time of the year)?

P.S., if you’re planning to have a one word focus for 2015, I’ll be writing about that next week so join me, especially if you have a blog and want to link up! 🙂

Author:

I am Amber. Amber I am. I like to write things that sound like a Dr. Seuss book, evidently.

One thought on “Have yourself an unemotional Christmas

Tell me what you think!

