Posted in Projects, self-improvement

One Word 2015 + a project

It’s time to wrap up 2014 and start focusing on 2015. I can’t believe it! This year feels like it has gone by so quickly!

Since I’m a bit of a nerd, I get really excited when it’s time to start planning for a new year. I do all sorts of planning- lists of goals and ideas, putting things in my planner (I ordered this one this year; it’s a lot more than I normally pay for a planner, but I had PayPal cash, she ran a Small Business Saturday special, and, well, I just wanted it…), etc. However, I’ve noticed that I have run into a problem over the last few years; I can plan all day, but I lack follow through. I have a lot of good ideas, but a lot of them never get off the ground. Plus, to be honest, I’m a bit of a flake at times, backing out on plans, not keeping my word, and being a bit lazy about things that I really should be more routine about, like chores.

With those things in mind, I started thinking about my One Word for 2015. If you don’t know what that means, just do a search for One Word, and you will find plenty of information about it! My One Word for 2014 was Healthy, but, as with many other things lately, I didn’t follow through with the plans I set for it, and so it kind of fizzled. So, as I thought and prayed about my goals for this upcoming year, something kept coming up. In fact, someone even posted something related to it on Facebook:

Consistent. Hmmm. I have a tendency to be all or nothing. If it’s not perfect and exactly like I want it, then I tend to just hibernate and not do anything at all. If I don’t know where to start on a project, then instead of just taking small, consistent steps to start it and work on it, then I just do nothing at all. As a friend put it, I’m kind of like a pendulum and I swing wildly from one side to another instead of just getting a little off track.

So, what can I do to reach my goals and keep myself on track in 2015? Make small changes. Take baby steps every day. Keep my word to myself and others. Be consistent.

Yep. I think I have a word for 2015.

The graphics both in the post and on my sidebar were created by the talented Meredith Duke. Her word for 2015 is BOLD, Check out her post about how she chose this word and what it means to her.

If you have a word for 2015, tell me about it in the comments. Link to your blog if you have one, and if you’d like a graphic, visit Meredith’s blog, and she’ll be glad to make one for you! 🙂

I plan to revisit my word a few times this year since I am going to blog every Monday (be consistent, right?), so stay tuned for updates.

Now, since this post isn’t quite long enough (ha), let me briefly talk about another project I’m starting in 2015 that I’m tentatively calling “Pray Every Day.”

During the Thanksgiving to Christmas season, I started noticing how many of my friends and family members were having a challenging time. Whether it was because of a loss, a personal difficulty, or a number of things, it just seemed like a lot of people weren’t quite in the holiday spirit. I felt like I needed to start praying for people and get out of my selfish bubble, and as I thought more about it, this project was born.

I plan to pray for a different person (or people) every day in 2015. I’ve got a list started with some birthdays and anniversaries of friends and family, so I can pray for them on those days, but there are still a lot of days unaccounted for. So, if you would like me to pray for you on your birthday, anniversary, or another day that holds significance- good or bad- fill out the form below. If you have children or other family members or friends you’d like me to pray for, fill it out on their behalf. If you don’t have a specific date, then I’ll fill one in and let you know what date I’ve chosen (if you’d like me to). Thanks for reading!

Author:

I am Amber. Amber I am. I like to write things that sound like a Dr. Seuss book, evidently.

3 thoughts on “One Word 2015 + a project

Tell me what you think!

