Posted in Uncategorized

[In]Consistent

Several months ago, I talked about how I was going to make Consistent my “One Word” for 2015. I talked about how I was going to be more consistent with taking baby steps to make changes, more consistent about posting every Monday, etc. I even bought a fancy ring with my word on it to remind me to be more consistent.

Silver ring with word Consistent imprinted on it laying on a Groot bobblehead.
Thanks for holding my ring, Dancing Groot!

Fancy, huh?

It is now March 30, and I have been anything but consistent. My last post was on January 26, so it’s basically like February and March didn’t exist! I was supposed to write and post a book review a couple of weeks ago, and I haven’t even finished the book. Plus, my inconsistency is spilling over into other areas too: home, personal, work, finances, and fitness. Yikes!

So what’s the deal? Am I just pressed for time? Eh, I’m busier than I have been in the past year. The husband and I both have new jobs, we’re going to a new church, and we’re part of a fantastic small group, but those things aren’t all-consuming. Plus, I don’t seem to have any trouble prioritizing my time for Facebook, reading magazines, or watching 4 seasons of Top Gear in a couple of weeks.

The key word in that last sentence is prioritizing. What we value, we prioritize. As much as I say I value keeping a clean home, having daily quiet time, exercising regularly, paying off debt, and writing on this little blog, if my actions don’t match up with my words, then I’m lying to myself and others. Both my former pastor and current pastor have made the comment that you can tell what someone’s priorities are based on his or her checkbook and calendar. I haven’t updated either of those things in at least 3 weeks, so it seems that I’m not being a good steward of my finances or my time.

I don’t really have a good closing paragraph for this post. In the past, I probably would’ve pledged to start some kind of challenge where I was going to post every day, eat 17 different types of vegetables, spend an hour each day doing quiet time, and do a project a day around the house for a month (oh wait…). Now I realize that those types of things contributed to my failure in the past. I’m a bit of a perfectionist, so I felt like I either had to do it all or I couldn’t do anything at all. I’ve touched on this concept before, but it’s worth reminding myself that IT’S OKAY TO TAKE SMALL, CONSISTENT STEPS THAT BRING ABOUT EVENTUAL LASTING CHANGE RATHER THAN TRYING TO CHANGE MY LIFE OVERNIGHT AND GETTING FRUSTRATED BY THE LACK OF PROGRESS!

(Aren’t all of those capital letters annoying?)

It’s Spring, and it’s time for a reset and renewal of goals. It’s time to be consistent.

Author:

I am Amber. Amber I am. I like to write things that sound like a Dr. Seuss book, evidently.

Tell me what you think!

