Posted in Uncategorized

‘Tis the Season

It starts off quietly. You notice that the summer items are being put on clearance. The kids go back to school. Target exchanges the sandals and crop top displays for boots and cardigans. Then, before you know it, you’re awash in a sea of pumpkin spice everything and obsessively checking the forecast to see when your can break out the boots and tights.

I am, of course, talking about the white girl’s favorite time of year: FALL!!!

rolling around in the pumpkins
                                 Not my picture! Click photo for source!

Until a few years ago, I really didn’t understand the allure of fall.  Sure, it was nice not to be drenched in sweat from the short walk from the car to the building, but what wasn’t to love about summertime? However, as I’ve grown older and, let’s say, more well-insulated, summer has become less appealing. It’s only fun to be outside when you’re in a body of water (preferably a pool because let’s not even talk about things nibbling on your toes…). But, the problem of being well-insulated means that it’s harder to find swimwear that will fit you and not make you look like you’re about 40 years older than you actually are. Don’t even get me started on trying to find clothes to keep you cool when you’re not a fan of shorts or sandals. Plus there’s that whole shaving your legs thing (what? Don’t act like you shave daily during the cooler months…).

I’ve always tried to enjoy life in the season I am in, but this year, I’m ready to dive head first into fall. I’m ready to switch out the decorations in our house, break out the leggings, and drink my weight in pumpkin spice coffee drinks. Yeah, I know that fall leads to winter, and winter is terrible, but we won’t worry about that just yet. So if you need me, I’ll be trying on long sweaters to make sure they cover all of my parts (since leggings aren’t pants) and drinking neon orange coffee while burning my apple scented candles and cooking chili in the crockpot.

Author:

I am Amber. Amber I am. I like to write things that sound like a Dr. Seuss book, evidently.

2 thoughts on “‘Tis the Season

  1. Yay!! Fall is the BEST. I’m already making plans to pick out pumpkins, wear sweaters, scarves, boots, and leggings, and eat/drink pumpkin and apple everything (and overeat sweets in general). I was over summer all the way back in June…

    1. I got my first pumpkin coffee and pumpkin doughnut today!!! Of course, it’s going to be in the 90s here for the rest of the week, so it was an iced pumpkin latte, but it’s the thought that counts, right? I definitely don’t need any excuse to overeat sweets though! 😉

Tell me what you think!

