Posted in baby, Charlotte, motherhood

Charlotte’s One Month Update

Hi everyone! I’ve been trying to write this post for a week now! Our baby girl is one month old!! It’s been a wild and crazy five weeks so far, and I plan to write about it…eventually. Today I wanted to give an update about her first month of life and throw in a couple of pictures, like the one below:

Charlotte One Month Blog

Isn’t she adorable??

I got the idea for the layout for these monthly updates from the posts that Valerie at The Style Files writes about her son. I thought it would be a great way to keep track of all of the changes she goes through during her first year of life and something neat that she could go back and read someday.

Charlotte’s One Month Update:

Height:
at birth: 20 inches
at one month: 21 inches

Weight:
birth weight: 6 lb 5 oz
at one month: 7 lb 11 oz


Clothing Size: 
Newborn, although some of her newborn pants are starting to get too short. Good thing it’s getting warm outside because they look like capris! 😉

Milestones:
-She got to have her first “slumber party” with my parents after I had to go to the ER two days in a row with high blood pressure. She was a champ and now has regular slumber parties with the two sets of grandparents that live near us.

-She went on her first family walk in her stroller and loved it! She snoozed pretty solidly for several hours afterwards (and so did I…it was tiring!).

-She met all of her great grandparents!

Likes: eating, going on walks, baths, spending time with her family, sitting in her swing

Dislikes: tummy time, sitting still in traffic (keep that car moving!), being burped, getting her diaper changed before she eats…girl gets hangry! 

Sleep: She usually wakes up once or twice a night to eat, but she falls back asleep pretty easily. She’s had a couple of five to six hour stretches of sleep, which freaked me out a little and made me triple check her breathing!

Best Moment: Honestly, she’s a pretty awesome baby, so there have been a lot of best moments! I think one of my favorite things is when she looks up at me during those middle of the night feedings and gives me a grin and a little happy sigh. So sweet!

Worst Moment: I had some rough moments when my husband went back to work and it was just me with her and the crazy dog. Looking back, I should’ve called my mom or mother-in-law more often because both of them are fantastic and extremely helpful and have told me to call them anytime for anything. So, I’m publicly admitting that I was (am) too stubborn to ask for help!

Eating: Between every two and four hours. Due to the medicine I got in the ER, we made the decision to formula feed, so she’ll take anywhere from two to four ounces per feeding. If you try to cut her off before she’s finished, then she shows some of that red headed temper! 

Mommy Body Update: I gained (gulp) around fifty pounds while I was pregnant. I had hoped that Charlotte would weigh about thirty pounds to explain that number, but she was teeny tiny, so that theory went out the window! I lost about twenty-five pounds in the couple of weeks after giving birth, but now a little bit of that has come back thanks to eating too much fast food, drinking too many sugary coffee drinks, and not moving as much as I should. One of the nurses at my family doctor’s office had a discussion with me about my weight and my blood pressure and some ways to reduce both of those numbers. I am heavier than I’ve ever been and feeling very self-conscious about it. I have my postpartum checkup tomorrow, so hopefully I’ll be cleared to start lifting some weights (although lifting that car seat could count as a workout routine!). Also, I’ve set a goal to at least walk a Turkey Trot 5K on Thanksgiving day, so I am going to start training for that. I know that training for six months to walk a three mile race is a little much, but I’d rather give myself more time and actually complete the goal than to try to push too hard and get discouraged when I don’t reach it.

Wow. That was longer than I anticipated!

Overall:

There have been tough days and nights. There have been times that I’ve questioned why we decided to have a child. There have been times that I’ve felt like a failure because I’ve had to hold her most of the day and haven’t changed out of my pajamas or done a single chore. But, you know what, those are all temporary things. There are going to be good days and bad days, and the good days have outnumbered the bad days. We’ve got a great support system and a lot of help when we need it. Like I said, she’s a fantastic baby (unless she’s hungry!). This is an adventure, and I’m learning to relax and enjoy it. And, if I don’t get a load of laundry done one day or there’s an extra layer of dust on some furniture, then that’s okay. This little creature is our primary concern, and everything else can wait.

Plus, she’s adorable. How can you put this little girl down?

Charlotte One Month Blog #2
I don’t know why this picture is so much smaller or why my formatting turned weird!
We love you, baby girl!

Author:

I am Amber. Amber I am. I like to write things that sound like a Dr. Seuss book, evidently.

4 thoughts on “Charlotte’s One Month Update

    1. Thank you for your kind words, and thanks for letting me “borrow” your monthly update format! I enjoy reading your updates. It seems like he turned one super quickly, but I know that’s not the case! 🙂

Tell me what you think!

