Posted in life

Silent No More

Yes, another election-related post. However, in a departure from my usual style, this will be serious, maybe even annoyingly polarizing, but I don’t care.

I’m tired of being quiet.

I’m tired of stifling opinions so as not to “offend” anyone that has differing opinions.

I’m tired of females being told they if they act like that, they’ll be perceived as this.

I’m just tired.

For the last few years, I’ve thought of myself as a conservative Republican. Lately that tide is shifting. I am becoming more concerned with human rights and basic decency and other things that I see reflected more in the liberal side of the pool than on the conservative side.

I have a lot of researching and reflecting that I want to do, and I urge others to do the same. If you chose the new president because “he wasn’t her,” then you’re one of the ones who really, really, really needs to take some time to do some soul-searching.

I have a daughter that I need to set a good example for. I want her to grow up being able to stick up for herself, voice her opinions, and do anything she sets her mind to. I don’t want her to feel the need to be silent just to keep people on her social media feeds happy – especially if deep down she wonders why she even still follows or is friends with some of those very people. I want her to know that I will always love her and will be there for her, even if we have differing opinions. Actually, that goes for all of those who I really care about.

There is no singular thing that every person on the planet, in the country, in my state, in my city, or even my neighborhood can agree on. That’s not the problem here. The problem is blatant disrespect of people’s valid opinions and the hatred that people have been throwing back and forth. I’ve heard so many stories about this hatred that have made me sick and sad. I don’t know whether to cry, get mad, or stress eat (D. All of the above).

I’m not sure what our next steps are as a country or even what my next steps are as a person, but I do know that it’s time for me to start owning my opinions and stop letting the fear of what “others might think” get in my way. It’s time for me to get to know myself and where I stand on things. It’s time for me to stop being silent.

 

Author:

I am Amber. Amber I am. I like to write things that sound like a Dr. Seuss book, evidently.

Tell me what you think!

